Skip to main content
Start of content

PROC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 26
Wednesday, April 2, 2014

The Standing Committee on Procedure and House Affairs met in a televised session at 7:01 p.m. this day, in Room C-110, 1 Wellington Street, the Chair, Joe Preston, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: David Christopherson, Alexandrine Latendresse, Tom Lukiwski, Ted Opitz, Joe Preston, Scott Reid, Blake Richards and Craig Scott.


Acting Members present: Dave MacKenzie for Brad Butt and Scott Simms for Kevin Lamoureux.


Other Members present: Bruce Hyer.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Sebastian Spano, Analyst; Erin Virgint, Research Assistant.


Witnesses: British Columbia Civil Liberties Association: Raji Mangat, Counsel. Canada Without Poverty: Leilani Farha, Executive Director. Canadian Civil Liberties Association: Cara Zwibel, Director, Fundamental Freedoms Program. Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives: Patti Tamara Lenard, Research Associate. As individuals: James Quail, Lawyer; Jon Pammett, Professor, Political Science, Carleton University; Alex Marland, Associate Professor, Political Science, Memorial University of Newfoundland; Pippa Norris, Professor, John F Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, February 10, 2014, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-23, An Act to amend the Canada Elections Act and other Acts and to make consequential amendments to certain Acts.

Leilani Farha, Raji Mangat and Cara Zwibel made statements and answered questions.


At 7:57 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 8:02 p.m., the sitting resumed.


James Quail, by videoconference from Vancouver, British Columbia, and Patti Tamara Lenard made statements and answered questions.


Craig Scott gave notice of the following motion:

That the Committee present a report to the House of Commons recommending that Bill C-23, An Act to amend the Canada Elections Act and other Acts and to make consequential amendments to certain Acts, be withdrawn.


Questioning of the witnesses resumed.


At 8:50 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 8:58 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Pippa Norris, by videoconference from Sydney, Australia, Alex Marland, by videoconference from St-John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, and Jon Pammett made statements and answered questions.


At 9:58 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:00 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

At 10:08 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Marie-France Renaud
Clerk of the Committee

2014/04/03 2:58 p.m.