Skip to main content
Start of content

PROC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 24
Tuesday, April 1, 2014

The Standing Committee on Procedure and House Affairs met in a televised session at 11:04 a.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Joe Preston, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: David Christopherson, Kevin Lamoureux, Alexandrine Latendresse, Tom Lukiwski, Joe Preston, Scott Reid, Blake Richards and Craig Scott.


Acting Members present: Dave MacKenzie for Brad Butt and Erin O'Toole for Ted Opitz.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Sebastian Spano, Analyst; Erin Virgint, Research Assistant.


Witnesses: People First of Lanark County: Kory Earle, Former President, Former Executive Director and Life Time Member. Canadian National Institute for the Blind: Diane Bergeron, National Director, Government Relations and Advocacy. Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission: Christianne Laizner, Senior General Counsel; Manon Bombardier, Chief Compliance and Enforcement Officer.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, February 10, 2014, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-23, An Act to amend the Canada Elections Act and other Acts and to make consequential amendments to certain Acts.

Kory Earle and Diane Bergeron made statements and answered questions.


At 11:58 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:01 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Christianne Laizner and Manon Bergeron made statements and answered questions.


At 12:52 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Marie-France Renaud
Clerk of the Committee

2014/04/02 12:50 p.m.