Skip to main content
Start of content

PROC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 22
Thursday, March 27, 2014

The Standing Committee on Procedure and House Affairs met in a televised session at 11:01 a.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Joe Preston, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: David Christopherson, Kevin Lamoureux, Alexandrine Latendresse, Tom Lukiwski, Joe Preston, Scott Reid, Blake Richards and Craig Scott.


Acting Members present: Hon. Laurie Hawn for Brad Butt and Erin O'Toole for Ted Opitz.


Associate Members present: Dave MacKenzie.


Other Members present: Elizabeth May and Scott Simms.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Andre Barnes, Analyst; Erin Virgint, Research Assistant.


Witnesses: As an individual: Harry Neufeld, Electoral Management Consultant. Civix: Taylor Gunn, President. Fair Vote Canada: Nathalie Des Rosiers, Member of the Board, Dean, Faculty of Law, Civil Law, University of Ottawa. Institute for Research on Public Policy: Graham Fox, President and Chief Executive Officer. Samara: Alison Loat, Executive Director and Co-Founder.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, February 10, 2014, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-23, An Act to amend the Canada Elections Act and other Acts and to make consequential amendments to certain Acts.

Harry Neufeld made a statement and answered questions.


At 11:56 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:59 a.m., the sitting resumed.


Alison Loat, Nathalie Des Rosiers, Graham Fox and Taylor Gunn made statements and answered questions.


David Christopherson gave notice of the following motion:

That, pursuant to the motion adopted by the House of Commons on Thursday, March 27, 2014 relating to the Official Opposition, the Committee invite the Honourable Leader of the Opposition, and also invite the Right Honourable Prime Minister to appear before the Committee to address the many partisan activities undertaken by his government, specifically by the Prime Minister's Office (PMO) and by the Conservative Research Group (CRG), and that furthermore, the current study on C-23 be extended by the same number of days as those scheduled for the study on the referred motion.


Questioning of the witnesses resumed.


At 12:58 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Marie-France Renaud
Clerk of the Committee

2014/03/28 12:48 p.m.