Skip to main content
Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 38
Wednesday, July 9, 2014

The Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights met in a televised session at 9:31 a.m. this day, in Room C-110, 1 Wellington Street, the Chair, Mike Wallace, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Françoise Boivin, Sean Casey, Bob Dechert, Robert Goguen, Pierre Jacob, Ève Péclet, Mike Wallace and David Wilks.


Acting Members present: Stella Ambler for Kyle Seeback and Joy Smith for Patrick Brown.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Lyne Casavant, Analyst; Dominique Valiquet, Analyst. House of Commons: Chloé O'Shaughnessy, Procedural Clerk.


Witnesses: Adult Entertainment Association of Canada: Tim Lambrinos, Executive Director, Ontario Region; Rudi Czekalla, Consultant, Principal, Municipal Policy Consultants. Mothers Against Trafficking Humans: Glendene Grant, Founder. Sex Professionals of Canada: Amy Lebovitch, Executive Director; Valerie Scott, Legal Coordinator. York Regional Police: Eric Jolliffe, Chief of Police, Office of the Chief Police; Thai Truong, Detective, Drugs and Vice. As an individual: Gunilla S. Ekberg, Lawyer, University of Glasgow School of Law.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, June 16, 2014, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-36, An Act to amend the Criminal Code in response to the Supreme Court of Canada decision in Attorney General of Canada v. Bedford and to make consequential amendments to other Acts.

Tim Lambrinos, Rudi Czekalla, Glendene Grant, Amy Lebovitch, Valerie Scott, Eric Jolliffe and Gunilla S. Ekberg, by videoconference from Copenhagen, Denmark, made statements and answered questions.


At 11:32 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:38 a.m., the sitting resumed in camera.


Thai Truong made a statement and answered questions.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That the testimony of Thai Truong heard in camera be considered public.


At 12:04 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Pagé
Clerk of the Committee

2014/07/11 11:23 a.m.