Skip to main content
Start of content

FOPO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 9
Wednesday, February 5, 2014

The Standing Committee on Fisheries and Oceans met at 3:36 p.m. this day, in Room 268, La Promenade Building, for the purpose of electing a Chair, pursuant to Standing Order 106(1).


Members of the Committee present: Robert Chisholm, Ryan Cleary, Patricia Davidson, Randy Kamp, Hon. Lawrence MacAulay, Robert Sopuck, Kennedy Stewart, John Weston and Rodney Weston.


Acting Members present: Jim Hillyer for Ryan Leef.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Thai Nguyen, Analyst.

Pursuant to Standing Order 106(2), the Clerk of the Committee presided over the election of a Chair.

On motion of Lawrence MacAulay, it was agreed, — That Rodney Weston be elected Chair of the Committee.

By unanimous consent, pursuant to Standing Order 106(2), the Clerk of the Committee proceeded to the election of Vice-Chairs.

On motion of Randy Kamp, it was agreed, — That Robert Chisholm be elected First Vice-Chair of the Committee.


On motion of Robert Chisholm, it was agreed, — That Hon. Lawrence MacAulay be elected Second Vice-Chair of the Committee.


At 3:40 p.m., Rodney Weston took the Chair.

By unanimous consent, the Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That, further to the Order adopted by the House on Tuesday, December 3, 2013, regarding changes to committee memberships, the Committee’s routine motion regarding the questioning of witnesses be replaced by the following:

That witnesses from any one organization shall be allowed ten (10) minutes to make their opening statement. During the questioning of witnesses, there shall be allocated ten (10) minutes for the 1st round of questioning and thereafter five (5) minutes shall be allocated to each questioner in the 2nd and subsequent rounds of questioning; and that the order of questions for the 1st round of questioning shall be as follows: New Democratic Party, Conservative Party, Liberal Party, Conservative Party. Questioning during the 2nd round shall alternate between the Government members and Opposition members in the following fashion: New Democratic Party, Conservative Party, New Democratic Party, Conservative Party, Conservative Party, and if time permits, Liberal Party; based on the principle that each committee member should have a full opportunity to question the witness(es). If time permits, further rounds shall repeat the pattern of the first two at the discretion of the chair.


Robert Chisholm gave notice of the following motion:

That the Committee immediately begin an examination of the library closure at the Pacific Region Headquarters Library, Vancouver; the Pacific Biological Station Library, Nanaimo; the Eric Marshall Aquatic Research Library, Winnipeg; the Maurice Lamontagne Institute Library, Mont- Joli; the Mere Juliette Library of the Gulf Fisheries Centre, Moncton; the St, Andrews Biological Station Library, St. Andrews; and the Northwest Atlantic Fisheries Centre Library, St. John’s, based on accusations that the Department of Fisheries & Oceans destroyed valuable and irreplaceable research, including research papers that were thrown in the dumpster and, that the witnesses include officials from the Department of Fisheries & Oceans; Library and Archives Canada; and researchers who depend on these libraries for their work.


At 4:17 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Georges Etoka
Clerk of the Committee

2014/02/06 1:55 p.m.