Skip to main content
Start of content

FOPO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 5
Thursday, November 28, 2013

The Standing Committee on Fisheries and Oceans met at 3:31 p.m. this day, in Room 268, La Promenade Building, the Chair, Rodney Weston, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Robert Chisholm, Patricia Davidson, Fin Donnelly, Randy Kamp, Greg Kerr, Ryan Leef, Hon. Lawrence MacAulay, Robert Sopuck, John Weston and Rodney Weston.


Acting Members present: Niki Ashton for Fin Donnelly, Tarik Brahmi for Philip Toone and Peter Stoffer for Ryan Cleary.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Thai Nguyen, Analyst.


Witnesses: Department of Fisheries and Oceans: David Bevan, Associate Deputy Minister; Denis Bombardier, Acting Chief Financial Officer; David Gillis, Acting Assistant Deputy Minister, Ecosystems and Oceans Science Sector; Marc Grégoire, Commissioner, Canadian Coast Guard; Matthew King, Deputy Minister; Kevin Stringer, Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Ecosystems and Fisheries Management; Trevor Swerdfager, Assistant Deputy Minister, Ecosystems and Fisheries Management.

Pursuant to Standing Order 81(5), the Committee commenced consideration of the Supplementary Estimates (B) 2013-2014: Votes 1b, 5b and 10b under FISHERIES AND OCEANS, referred to the Committee on Thursday, November 7, 2013.

The Chair called Vote 1b under FISHERIES AND OCEANS.


Matthew King and Denis Bombardier made statements and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.


At 4:56 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Georges Etoka
Clerk of the Committee

2013/11/29 11:53 a.m.