Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 7
Tuesday, November 19, 2013

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 11:00 a.m. this day, in Room C-110, 1 Wellington Street, the Chair, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Mark Adler, Guy Caron, Raymond Côté, Randy Hoback, Brian Jean, Gerald Keddy, Peggy Nash, James Rajotte, Murray Rankin, Andrew Saxton and Dave Van Kesteren.


Acting Members present: Ted Hsu for Hon. Scott Brison, François Lapointe for Peggy Nash and David Wilks for Andrew Saxton.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Michaël Lambert-Racine, Analyst; Mark Mahabir, Analyst.


Witnesses: As an individual: David Hulchanski, Professor, University of Toronto. Agence métropolitaine de transport: Nicolas Girard, Chief Executive Officer. Canadian Real Estate Association: Gary Simonsen, Chief Executive Officer; Gregory Klump, Chief Economist. Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre: Barry McLellan, President and Chief Executive Officer. Tourism Industry Association of Canada: David F. Goldstein, President and Chief Executive Officer. Canadian Convenience Stores Association: Alex Scholten, President. Credit Union Central of Canada: David Phillips, President and Chief Executive Officer. Desjardins Group: Daniel Roussel, Consulting Director, Senior Vice-President, Cooperation and Corporate Affairs. Federation of Canadian Municipalities: Brad Woodside, First Vice-President, Mayor of the City of Fredericton. Saskatchewan Association of Rural Municipalities: David Marit, President. Solidarité rurale du Québec: Claire Bolduc, President. Calgary Chamber of Commerce: Justin Smith, Director, Policy, Research and Government Relations.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2013.

David Hulchanski, Nicolas Girard, Gary Simonsen, Barry McLellan and David F. Goldstein made statements and, with Gregory Klump, answered questions.


At 12:24 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:30 p.m., the sitting resumed.


At 12:30 p.m., Dave Van Kesteren took the Chair.


Alex Scholten, David Phillips, Daniel Roussel, Brad Woodside, David Marit, Claire Bolduc and Justin Smith, by teleconference from Calgary, Alberta, made statements and answered questions.


At 12:48 p.m., James Rajotte took the Chair.


At 2:03 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Christine Lafrance
Clerk of the Committee

2013/11/20 1:36 p.m.