Skip to main content
Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 35
Wednesday, May 14, 2014

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room C-110, 1 Wellington Street, the Chair, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Mark Adler, Mike Allen, Hon. Scott Brison, Guy Caron, Nathan Cullen, Gerald Keddy, James Rajotte, Murray Rankin, Andrew Saxton and Dave Van Kesteren.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Mark Mahabir, Analyst; Michaël Lambert-Racine, Analyst.


Witnesses: As an individual: John Richardson. Canadian Bankers Association: Darren Hannah, Acting Vice-President, Policy and Operations. Canadian Council of Chief Executives: Brian Kingston, Senior Associate. Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada: Chantal Bernier, Interim Privacy Commissioner. As an individual: Sean Bruyea, Retired Captain, Columnist, Media Personality and Academic Researcher. Canadian Bar Association: Cyndee Todgham Cherniak, Chair, Commodity Tax, Customs and Trade Section. Canadian Consumer Specialty Products Association: Shannon Coombs, President. Chemistry Industry Association of Canada: Gordon Lloyd, Vice-President, Technical Affairs. As an individual: Dominique Gross, Professor, School of Public Policy, Simon Fraser University.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Tuesday, April 8, 2014, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-31, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on February 11, 2014 and other measures.

John Richardson, Darren Hannah, Brian Kingston and Chantal Bernier made statements and answered questions.


At 4:31 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:35 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Sean Bruyea, Cyndee Todgham Cherniak, Shannon Coombs, Gordon Lloyd and Dominique Gross, by videoconference from Vancouver, British Columbia, made statements and answered questions.


At 5:17 p.m., by unanimous consent and pursuant to Standing Order 115(5), it was agreed that the Committee continue to sit.


At 5:32 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Christine Lafrance
Clerk of the Committee

2014/05/15 8:54 a.m.