Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 10
Monday, November 25, 2013

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 3:31 p.m. this day, in Room C-110, 1 Wellington Street, the Chair, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Mark Adler, Hon. Scott Brison, Guy Caron, Raymond Côté, Randy Hoback, Brian Jean, Gerald Keddy, James Rajotte, Murray Rankin, Andrew Saxton and Dave Van Kesteren.


Acting Members present: Mylène Freeman for Peggy Nash and Ève Péclet for Peggy Nash.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Mark Mahabir, Analyst; Michaël Lambert-Racine, Analyst.


Appearing: Hon. Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance.


Witnesses: As an individual: David Spiro, Dentons Canada LLP. Fonds de solidarité des travailleurs et travailleuses du Québec: Yvon Bolduc, Chief Executive Officer. As an individual: Jack Mintz, Director and Palmer Chair in Public Policy, School of Public Policy, University of Calgary. Thorsteinssons LLP: Michael Colborne, Partner. Chartered Professional Accountants of Canada: Gabriel Hayos, Vice-President, Taxation. Canadian Restaurant and Foodservices Association: Joyce Reynolds, Executive Vice-President, Government Affairs. Fédération des chambres de commerce du Québec: François-William Simard, Director, Strategy and Economic Affairs. GrowthWorks Atlantic Ltd.: Thomas J. Hayes, President and Chief Executive Officer. iNovia Capital Inc.: Chris Arsenault, President. Wildsight: John Bergenske, Executive Director. Department of Human Resources and Skills Development: Brenda Baxter, Director General, Workplace Directorate, Labour Program. Department of Finance: Ted Cook, Senior Legislative Chief, Tax Legislation Division, Tax Policy Branch. Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives: Armine Yalnizyan, Senior Economist. Canadian Federation of Independent Business: Monique Moreau, Senior Policy Analyst. Imagine Canada: Michelle Gauthier, Vice-President, Public Policy and Community Engagement. Mouvement autonome et solidaire des sans-emploi (réseau québécois): Marie-Hélène Arruda, Coordinator.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Tuesday, October 29, 2013, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-4, A second act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on March 21, 2013 and other measures.

David Spiro, Yvon Bolduc, Jack Mintz, by videoconference from Calgary, Alberta, Michael Colborne, by videoconference from Toronto, Ontario, and Gabriel Hayos, by videoconference from Toronto, Ontario, made statements and answered questions.


At 4:46 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:51 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Joyce Reynolds, François-William Simard, Thomas J. Hayes, Chris Arsenault and John Bergenske, by videoconference from Kimberley, British Columbia, made statements and answered questions.


At 6:02 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 6:16 p.m., the sitting resumed.


The Minister made a statement and, with Brenda Baxter and Ted Cook, answered questions.


At 7:09 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 7:14 p.m., the sitting resumed.


At 7:14 p.m., Scott Brison took the Chair.


Armine Yalnizyan, Monique Moreau, Michelle Gauthier and Marie-Hélène Arruda, by videoconference from Québec, Québec made statements and answered questions.


At 7:36 p.m., James Rajotte took the Chair.


At 8:35 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Christine Lafrance
Clerk of the Committee

2013/11/26 4:25 p.m.