Skip to main content Start of content

FAAE Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 37
Thursday, November 27, 2014

The Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Development met at 8:50 a.m. this day, in Room 306, The Valour Building, the Chair, Dean Allison, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Dean Allison, David Anderson, Paul Dewar, Marc Garneau, Peter Goldring, Hon. Laurie Hawn, Hélène Laverdière and Gary Ralph Schellenberger.


Acting Members present: Raymond Côté for Romeo Saganash and Costas Menegakis for Lois Brown.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Allison Goody, Analyst; Brian Hermon, Analyst.


Witnesses: One Free World International: Rev. Majed El Shafie, Founder and President. Chaldean Catholic Church in Canada: Niaz Toma. Greek Orthodox Metropolis of Toronto (Canada): Sotirios Athanassoulas, Metropolitan Archbishop. As individuals: Mokhtar Lamani, Former Ambassador, United Nations-League of Arab States, Office of the Joint Special Representative for Syria, Damascus; Payam Akhavan, Professor, Faculty of Law, McGill University and Kellogg College, Oxford University.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, November 4, 2014, the Committee resumed its study of Canada's Response to the Violence, Religious Persecution and Dislocation Caused by the Islamic State of Iraq and the Levant (ISIL).

Majed El Shafie, Niaz Toma, Sotirios Athanassoulas, Mokhtar Lamani and Payam Akhavan, by videoconference from London, United Kingdom, made statements and answered questions.


At 10:44 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Joann Garbig
Clerk of the Committee

2014/12/02 9:34 a.m.