Skip to main content
Start of content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 20
Thursday, April 3, 2014

The Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development met at 3:33 p.m. this day, in Room 306, La Promenade Building, the Chair, Harold Albrecht, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Harold Albrecht, Dennis Bevington, Brian Storseth and Lawrence Toet.


Acting Members present: Paul Calandra for Stephen Woodworth, Carol Hughes for Mylène Freeman, Megan Anissa Leslie for François Choquette, Colin Mayes for Robert Sopuck, Francis Scarpaleggia for Hon. John McKay and John Williamson for Colin Carrie.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Penny Becklumb, Analyst; Tim Williams, Analyst.


Witnesses: As an individual: Jules Blais, Professor, University of Ottawa. Canadian Water Network: Bernadette Conant, Executive Director. Manitoulin Area Stewardship Council: Robert Florean, Council Member and Technical Advisor. Canadian Environmental Law Association: Theresa McClenaghan, Executive Director and Counsel; Fe de Leon, Researcher.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, December 10, 2013, the Committee resumed its study of the water quality of the Great Lakes Basin.

Theresa McClenaghan, Fe de Leon, Bernadette Conant, Robert Florean and Jules Blais made statements and answered questions.


At 5:17 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:19 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That the meeting on Tuesday, April 29, 2014 be cancelled.


At 5:23 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Christine Holke David
Clerk of the Committee

2015/10/06 11:48 a.m.