Skip to main content
Start of content

CIIT Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 44
Wednesday, February 4, 2015

The Standing Committee on International Trade met at 3:31 p.m. this day, in Room 306, The Valour Building, the Chair, Randy Hoback, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Mike Allen, Hon. Ron Cannan, Don Davies, Chrystia Freeland, Parm Gill, Nina Grewal, Randy Hoback, Laurin Liu, Marc-André Morin and Devinder Shory.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Alexandre Gauthier, Analyst; Pascal Tremblay, Analyst.


Witnesses: Air Canada Pilots Association: Ian Smith, President. Air Transport Association of Canada: John McKenna, President and Chief Executive Officer; Les Aalders, Executive Vice President; Wayne Gouveia, Vice President, Commercial General Aviation. Vancouver Airport Authority: Gerry Bruno, Vice President, Federal Government Affairs. Tourism Industry Association of Canada: Rob Taylor, A/ President and Chief Executive Officer.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, March 25, 2014, the Committee resumed its study of the positive effects of the Global Markets Action Plan.

Ian Smith and John McKenna made statements and answered questions.


At 3:53 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:51 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Gerry Bruno, by videoconference from Vancouver, British Columbia, and Rob Taylor made statements and answered questions.


At 5:33 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Christine Holke David
Clerk of the Committee

2015/02/09 3:38 p.m.