Skip to main content
Start of content

CHPC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 7
Tuesday, December 3, 2013

The Standing Committee on Canadian Heritage met at 8:43 a.m. this day, in Room 228, La Promenade Building, the Chair, Gordon Brown, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Ray Boughen, Gordon Brown, Hon. Stéphane Dion, Matthew Dubé, Rick Dykstra, Jim Hillyer, François Lapointe, Chungsen Leung, Irene Mathyssen, Pierre Nantel, Blake Richards and Terence Young.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Michael Dewing, Analyst; Marion Ménard, Analyst. House of Commons: Christine Holke David, Procedural Clerk.


Witnesses: Bobsleigh Canada Skeleton: Don Wilson, Chief Executive Officer. Canadian Freestyle Ski Association: Peter Judge, Chief Executive Officer. Ski Jumping Canada : Curtis Lyon, Chairman. As an individual: Katie Weatherston, Olympic Gold Medalist. National Hockey League Players' Association: Robert Zamuner, Divisional Player Representative.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, November 19, 2013, the Committee resumed its study of Canada's Preparations for the 2014 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games in Sochi.

Don Wilson, Peter Judge and Curtis Lyon by videoconference from Calgary, Alberta made statements and answered questions.


At 9:34 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:39 a.m., the sitting resumed.


Katie Weatherston and Robert Zamuner made statements and answered questions.


Pierre Nantel moved, — That the Committee invite the President of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC) to appear before February 7th, 2014 for a two-hour televised session to present the Commission’s approach to the future of Canadian television to the Committee, including measures taken to solicit Canadians’ participation in the “Parlons Télé” consultation.


The question was put on the motion and it was negatived on the following recorded division:YEAS: Stéphane Dion, Matthew Dubé, François Lapointe, Irene Mathyssen, Pierre Nantel — 5; NAYS: Ray Boughen, Rick Dykstra, Jim Hillyer, Chungsen Leung, Blake Richards, Terence Young — 6.


At 10:25 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:27 a.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The Committee proceeded to give drafting instructions to the Analysts for a report.

At 10:44 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Emma-Leigh Boucher
Clerk of the Committee

2013/12/03 2:24 p.m.