Skip to main content
Start of content

CHPC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 44
Monday, May 4, 2015

The Standing Committee on Canadian Heritage met at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room 228, The Valour Building, the Chair, Gordon Brown, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Gordon Brown, Hon. Stéphane Dion, Jim Hillyer, Pierre Nantel, Kennedy Stewart, John Weston, Terence Young and David Yurdiga.


Acting Members present: Garry Breitkreuz for Rick Dykstra and José Nunez-Melo for Rathika Sitsabaiesan.


In attendance: House of Commons: Michelle Legault, Procedural Clerk. Library of Parliament: Michael Dewing, Analyst; Marion Ménard, Analyst.


Witnesses: Department of Canadian Heritage: Marc Lemay, Director General, Arts Policy Branch; Robert Hunter, Director, Strategic Arts Support, Arts Policy Branch. Dance Collection Danse: Amy Bowring, Director, Collections and Research. Canadian Dance Assembly: Kate Cornell, Executive Director. Canada's National Ballet School of Canada: John Dalrymple, Director, Strategic Initiatives. Regroupement québécois de la danse: Lorraine Hébert, Executive Director; Harold Rhéaume, President. Dancer Transition Resource Centre: Amanda Hancox, Executive Director, National Office; Coralee McLaren, Alumnus, Former dancer; Parise Mongrain, Director of the Quebec office.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Wednesday, February 18, 2015, the Committee commenced its study of dance in Canada.

Marc Lemay, Amy Bowring and John Dalrymple, by videoconference from Calgary, Alberta, made statements and answered questions.


At 4:30 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:34 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Kate Cornell, Lorraine Hébert and Amanda Hancox made statements and, with Parise Mongrain and Coralee McLaren by videoconference from Toronto, Ontario, answered questions.


At 5:31 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Cynara Corbin
Clerk of the Committee

2015/05/05 2:19 p.m.