Skip to main content
Start of content

CHPC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 43
Wednesday, April 29, 2015

The Standing Committee on Canadian Heritage met at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room 228 The Valour Building, the Chair, Gordon Brown, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Gordon Brown, Hon. Stéphane Dion, Rick Dykstra, Jim Hillyer, Pierre Nantel, Rathika Sitsabaiesan, Kennedy Stewart, John Weston, Terence Young and David Yurdiga.


In attendance: House of Commons: Michelle Legault, Procedural Clerk. Library of Parliament: Michael Dewing, Analyst; Marion Ménard, Analyst.


Witnesses: Association québécoise de la production médiatique: Marie Collin, Chief Executive Officer; Brigitte Doucet, Assistant general director. Toronto International Film Festival Inc.: Piers Handling, Chief Executive Officer. Serendipity Point Films: Robert Lantos, Owner. Québec Cinema Foundation: François Lemieux, Director, Tournée du cinéma québécois. Société de développement des entreprises culturelles: Monique Simard, President and Chief Executive Officer.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Monday, February 16, 2015, the Committee resumed its review of the Canadian feature film industry.

Marie Collin, François Lemieux and Monique Simard, by teleconference from Montreal, Quebec, made statements and answered questions.


At 4:30 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:34 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Robert Lantos and Piers Handling, by videoconference from Toronto, Ontario, made statements and answered questions.


At 5:31 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Cynara Corbin
Clerk of the Committee

2015/04/30 2:03 p.m.