Skip to main content

CHPC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 22
Thursday, May 8, 2014

The Standing Committee on Canadian Heritage met at 11:00 a.m. this day, in Room 228, La Promenade Building, the Chair, Gordon Brown, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Ray Boughen, Gordon Brown, Hon. Stéphane Dion, Ted Falk, Irene Mathyssen, Pierre Nantel and Kennedy Stewart.


Acting Members present: Paul Calandra for Rick Dykstra, Rob Clarke for Rick Dykstra, Rob Clarke for John Weston, Joe Daniel for John Weston, Earl Dreeshen for Jim Hillyer, Nina Grewal for Jim Hillyer and Wai Young for John Weston.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Michael Dewing, Analyst; Marion Ménard, Analyst. House of Commons: Christine Holke David, Procedural Clerk.


Witnesses: As individuals: Jim Vallance; Paul Hoffert. Mo'fat Management: Stéphanie Moffatt, President; Mylène Fortier, Director, Marketing. Music NB: Jean Surette, Executive Director; Richard Hornsby, Director of Music, University of New Brunswick. Manitoba Music: Stephen Carroll, Board Member.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, December 5, 2013, the Committee resumed its review of the Canadian music industry.

Pierre Nantel moved, — That the Committee invite the Honourable Shelly Glover, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages and the President and Chief Executive Officer of the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, Hubert T. Lacroix, for a two (2) hour televised meeting on the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC) and that this meeting take place no later than Thursday, June 12, 2014.


Rob Clarke moved, — That the Committee proceed to sit in camera.


By unanimous consent, the motion was withdrawn.


After debate, the question was put on the motion and the result of the vote was announced: YEAS: Stéphane Dion, Irene Mathyssen, Pierre Nantel, Kennedy Stewart — 4; NAYS: Ray Boughen, Rob Clarke, Joe Daniel, Nina Grewal — 4.

Whereupon, the Chair voted in the negative.

Accordingly, the motion was negatived.


Jim Vallance and Paul Hoffert made statements.


At 11:25 a.m., pursuant to Standing Order 115(5), the sitting was suspended.

At 12:15 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Jim Vallance and Paul Hoffert answered questions.


At 12:35 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:38 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Stéphanie Moffatt, Jean Surette and Stephen Carroll, by videoconference from Winnipeg, Manitoba, made statements.


Irene Mathyssen moved, — That the Committee continue to sit to allow each party a round of questions.


The question was put on the motion and it was negatived.


Stéphanie Moffatt answered a question.


At 12:59 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Emma-Leigh Boucher
Clerk of the Committee

2014/09/12 12:48 p.m.