Skip to main content
Start of content

CHPC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 21
Tuesday, May 6, 2014

The Standing Committee on Canadian Heritage met at 10:59 a.m. this day, in Room 228, La Promenade Building, the Chair, Gordon Brown, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Ray Boughen, Gordon Brown, Hon. Stéphane Dion, Rick Dykstra, Ted Falk, Jim Hillyer, Irene Mathyssen, Pierre Nantel, Kennedy Stewart and John Weston.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Michael Dewing, Analyst; Marion Ménard, Analyst. House of Commons: Christine Holke David, Procedural Clerk.


Witnesses: Canadian Independent Recording Artists' Association: Zachary Leighton, Executive Director; Gregg Terrence, President. National Music Centre: Andrew Mosker, President and Chief Executive Officer; Mary Kapusta, Manager, Marketing and Public Relations. Lula Lounge: Tracy Jenkins, Executive and Co-Artistic Director, Lula Music and Arts Centre. Stingray Digital: Eric Albert, Executive Vice-President; Mathieu Péloquin, Senior Vice-President, Marketing and Communications. Google Canada: Jason Kee, Counsel, Public Policy and Government Relations. Deezer: Justin Erdman, Managing Director, Canada.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, December 5, 2013, the Committee resumed its review of the Canadian music industry.

Zachary Leighton, Gregg Terrence, Andrew Mosker and Tracy Jenkins made statements and, with Mary Kapusta, answered questions.


Pierre Nantel gave notice of the following motion:

That the Committee invite the Hon. Shelly Glover, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages and the President and Chief Executive Officer of the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, Hubert T. Lacroix, for a two (2) hour televised meeting on the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC) and that this meeting take place no later than Thursday, June 12, 2014.


At 11:59 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:04 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Eric Albert, Mathieu Peloquin, Jason Kee and Justin Erdman made statements and answered questions.


At 12:59 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Emma-Leigh Boucher
Clerk of the Committee

2014/05/27 2:44 p.m.