Skip to main content
Start of content

CHPC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 20
Thursday, May 1, 2014

The Standing Committee on Canadian Heritage met at 11:45 a.m. this day, in Room 228, La Promenade Building, the Chair, Gordon Brown, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Ray Boughen, Gordon Brown, Hon. Stéphane Dion, Rick Dykstra, Ted Falk, Irene Mathyssen, Pierre Nantel, Kennedy Stewart and John Weston.


Acting Members present: Earl Dreeshen for Jim Hillyer.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Michael Dewing, Analyst; Marion Ménard, Analyst. House of Commons: Christine Holke David, Procedural Clerk.


Witnesses: Institut de la statistique du Québec: Dominique Jutras, Director, Observatoire de la culture et des communications; Claude Fortier, Project Manager, Observatoire de la culture et des communications. Warner Music Canada: Steven Kane, President. Nettwerk Music Group: Simon Mortimer-Lamb, President and Chief Operating Officer. Coup de coeur francophone: Alain Chartrand, Executive and Artistic Director. L'Équipe Spectra: François Bissoondoyal, Director, Label.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, December 5, 2013, the Committee resumed its review of the Canadian music industry.

Dominique Jutras, Alain Chartrand, Steven Kane, by videoconference from Richmond Hill, Ontario, Simon Mortimer-Lamb, by videoconference from Vancouver, British Columbia, and François Bissoondoyal by teleconference from Montréal, Québec, made statements and, with Claude Fortier, answered questions.


At 12:59 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Emma-Leigh Boucher
Clerk of the Committee

2014/05/05 3:38 p.m.