Skip to main content
Start of content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 54
Thursday, November 29, 2012

The Standing Committee on Transport, Infrastructure and Communities met at 11:03 a.m. this day, in Room 228, La Promenade Building, the Chair, Larry Miller, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Mark Adler, Robert Aubin, Olivia Chow, Hon. Denis Coderre, Joe Daniel, Ed Holder, Larry Miller, Pierre Poilievre, Mike Sullivan, Lawrence Toet and Jeff Watson.


Acting Members present: Marc-André Morin for Isabelle Morin and Pierre Nantel for Isabelle Morin.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Allison Padova, Analyst.


Appearing: Hon. Denis Lebel, P.C., M.P., Minister of Transport, Infrastructure and Communities; Hon. Steven Fletcher, P.C., M.P., Minister of State (Transport).


Witnesses: Department of Transport: Louis Lévesque, Deputy Minister; Anita Biguzs, Associate Deputy Minister; André Morency, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Management and Crown Corporation Governance, Corporate Services; Gerard McDonald, Assistant Deputy Minister, Safety and Security; Helena Borges, Assistant Deputy Minister, Programs. Infrastructure Canada: Marie Lemay, Associate Deputy Minister; David W. Miller, A/Assistant Deputy Minister, Chief Financial Officer, Corporate Services Branch.

Pursuant to Standing Order 81(5), the Committee commenced consideration of the Supplementary Estimates (B) 2012-13: Vote 60b under FOREIGN AFFAIRS AND INTERNATIONAL TRADE, votes 1b, 5b, 30b, 45b, 50b and 60b under TRANSPORT referred to the Committee on Thursday, November 8, 2012.

The Chair called Vote 1b under TRANSPORT.


The Minister and Hon. Steven Fletcher made statements and, with Louis Lévesque, answered questions.


At 12:07 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:09 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Louis Lévesque, Marie Lemay, David W. Miller, Anita Biguzs, Gerard McDonald and Helena Borges answered questions .


At 12:17 p.m., Olivia Chow took the Chair.


At 12:21 p.m., Larry Miller took the Chair.


Robert Aubin moved, — That the Committee ask the Minister of Transport, Infrastructure and Communities to provide it with information.



The Chair ruled that the motion did not meet the 48 hours' notice requirement.


Whereupon, Robert Aubin appealed the decision of the Chair.

The question: "Shall the decision of the Chair be sustained?" was put and the decision was sustained on the following recorded division:YEAS: Mark Adler, Ed Holder, Pierre Poilievre, Lawrence Toet, Jeff Watson — 5; NAYS: Robert Aubin, Olivia Chow, Denis Coderre, Marc-André Morin, Mike Sullivan — 5.

The Chair's decision was sustained as the question was not negatived.


By unanimous consent, the Chair called Votes 5b, 30b, 45b, 50b and 60b under TRANSPORT.


Votes 1b, 5b, 30b, 45b, 50b and 60b under TRANSPORT carried.






ORDERED, — That the Chair report Vote 60b under FOREIGN AFFAIRS AND INTERNATIONAL TRADE and votes 1b, 5b, 30b, 45b, 50b and 60b under TRANSPORT to the House.


At 12:48 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Alexandre Roger
Clerk of the Committee

2012/12/18 4:23 p.m.