Skip to main content Start of content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 48
Tuesday, October 23, 2012

The Standing Committee on Transport, Infrastructure and Communities met in camera at 11:01 a.m. this day, in Room 228, La Promenade Building, the Chair, Larry Miller, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Mark Adler, Robert Aubin, Olivia Chow, Hon. Denis Coderre, Joe Daniel, Ed Holder, Larry Miller, Isabelle Morin, Pierre Poilievre, Mike Sullivan, Lawrence Toet and Jeff Watson.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Allison Padova, Analyst.


Witnesses: Department of Transport: Gerard McDonald, Assistant Deputy Minister, Safety and Security; Merz Rustom, Director, Motor Vehicle Standards, Research and Development; Walter Carlson, Director of Equipment and Operations; Jutta Paczulla, Director, Innovation Policy. Department of Finance: Nicolas Blouin, Chief, Economic Development, Business Income tax Division. Department of the Environment: Steve McCauley, Director General, Energy and Transportation. Department of Natural Resources: Carol Buckley, Director General, Office of Energy Efficiency. Department of Public Works and Government Services: Pablo Sobrino, Associate Assistant Deputy Minister, Acquisitions Branch; Shereen Benzvy Miller, Director General, Office of Small and Medium Enterprises and Strategic Engagement - Acquisitions Branch. Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development: Gail Mitchell, Director General, Community Infrastructure Branch, Regional Operations Sector.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on September 26, 2011, the Committee resumed its study of Innovative Transportation Technologies.

Gerard McDonald, Merz Rustom, Steve McCauley, Walter Carlson, Carol Buckley, Nicolas Blouin, Pablo Sobrino and Shereen Benzvy Miller answered questions.


At 12:58 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Alexandre Roger
Clerk of the Committee

2012/10/23 2:36 p.m.