Skip to main content
Start of content

SECU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 32
Tuesday, March 27, 2012

The Standing Committee on Public Safety and National Security met at 3:31 p.m. this day, in Room 268, La Promenade Building, the Chair, Kevin Sorenson, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Jay Aspin, Sylvain Chicoine, Randall Garrison, Candice Hoeppner, Ryan Leef, Marie-Claude Morin, Rick Norlock, Brent Rathgeber, Francis Scarpaleggia, Kevin Sorenson and Wai Young.


Acting Members present: Françoise Boivin for Jasbir Sandhu and Colin Carrie for Rick Norlock.


Associate Members present: Roxanne James.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Tanya Dupuis, Analyst; Cynthia Kirkby, Analyst.


Witnesses: Correctional Service of Canada: Don Head, Commissioner; Michael Côté, Director General, Rights, Redress and Resolution; Shayne Dalton, Acting Analyst, Offender Redress.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, March 7, 2012, and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, March 8, 2012, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-293, An Act to amend the Corrections and Conditional Release Act (vexatious complainants).

Don Head made a statement and, with Michael Côté and Shayne Dalton, answered questions.


At 5:07 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:08 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That the Committee meet informally with the delegation from the Joint Standing Committee on Intelligence of the Parliament of the Republic of South Africa and that the meeting take place during one of the Committee's regular meeting time slots.


At 5:17 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Andrew Bartholomew Chaplin
Clerk of the Committee

2012/04/04 3:03 p.m.