Skip to main content
Start of content

SECU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 2
Tuesday, June 21, 2011

The Standing Committee on Public Safety and National Security met at 11:00 a.m. this day, in Room 306, La Promenade Building, the Chair, Kevin Sorenson, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Jay Aspin, Sylvain Chicoine, Randall Garrison, Candice Hoeppner, Ryan Leef, Marie-Claude Morin, Rick Norlock, Brent Rathgeber, Jasbir Sandhu, Francis Scarpaleggia, Kevin Sorenson and Wai Young.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Tanya Dupuis, Analyst; Cynthia Kirkby, Analyst.


Witnesses: Department of Public Safety: Graham Flack, Associate Deputy Minister. Privy Council Office: Patricia J. Hassard, Deputy Secretary to the Cabinet, Senior Personnel and Public Service Renewal.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Wednesday, June 15, 2011, the Committee commenced its study of selection criteria for the new Commissioner of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police.

Patricia J. Hassard made a statement and, with Graham Flack, answered questions.


Jasbir Sandhu moved, — That the Committee hold an additional meeting to hear from witnesses outside the Department of Public Safety and Privy Council Office for the purpose of studying the potential selection criteria for the next Royal Canadian Mounted Police Commissioner.



The Chair ruled the motion out of order as it went contrary to the motion adopted on Wednesday, June 15, 2011.


At 12:01 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:07 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That a letter be written to the Prime Minister indicating that the Committee has been consulted and supports the proposed selection criteria for the Royal Canadian Mounted Police Commissioner, and that it be sent within 48 hours.


At 12:25 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Andrew Bartholomew Chaplin
Clerk of the Committee

2012/01/09 9:34 a.m.