Skip to main content
Start of content

SECU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 16
Thursday, December 1, 2011

The Standing Committee on Public Safety and National Security met by videoconference at 11:01 a.m. this day, in Room 268, La Promenade Building, the Chair, Kevin Sorenson, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Jay Aspin, Sylvain Chicoine, Candice Hoeppner, Ryan Leef, Marie-Claude Morin, Rick Norlock, Brent Rathgeber, Jasbir Sandhu, Francis Scarpaleggia, Kevin Sorenson and Wai Young.


Acting Members present: Mike Allen for Brent Rathgeber and Mylène Freeman for Randall Garrison.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Tanya Dupuis, Analyst; Cynthia Kirkby, Analyst.


Witnesses: Correctional Service of Canada: Don Head, Commissioner; Christer McLauchlan, Security Intelligence Officer, Stony Mountain Institution.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, September 27, 2011, the Committee resumed its study of drugs and alcohol in prisons.

Don Head made a statement and, with Christer McLauchlan, answered questions.


At 12:04 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:10 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That, pursuant to the motion adopted Tuesday, November 22, 2011, the Committee invite the Commissioner of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police to appear Tuesday, December 13, 2011.


At 1:02 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Andrew Bartholomew Chaplin
Clerk of the Committee

2012/01/10 2:32 p.m.