Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 93
Tuesday, November 20, 2012

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 3:31 p.m. this day, in Room C-110, 1 Wellington Street, the Chair, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Mark Adler, Hon. Scott Brison, Guy Caron, Shelly Glover, Randy Hoback, Hoang Mai, Wayne Marston, Cathy McLeod, Peggy Nash, James Rajotte and Dave Van Kesteren.


Acting Members present: Larry Miller for Brian Jean and Robert Sopuck for Mark Adler.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Brett Stuckey, Analyst. House of Commons: Michelle Tittley, Procedural Clerk.


Witnesses: Writers Guild of Canada: Kelly Lynne Ashton, Director, Policy. Réseau québécois d'action pour la santé des femmes: Lydya Assayag, Director. Child Care Advocacy Association of Canada: Shellie Bird, Member, Board of Directors. Food Secure Canada: Diana Bronson, Executive Director. Canadian Bankers Association: Terry Campbell, President and Chief Executive Officer. Canadian Arts Coalition: Shannon Litzenberger, Artist, Arts Policy Fellow and Steering Committee Member. Medicine Hat and District Chamber of Commerce: Jason Melhoff, Chair. Canadian Medical Association: Anna Reid, President. Skate Canada: Joannie Rochette, Olympic Bronze Medalist; Benoit Lavoie, President. Association des producteurs de films et de télévision du Québec: Claire Samson, President and Chief Executive Officer. Fair Pensions for All: William Tufts, Founder and Executive Director. University of Toronto: Judith Wolfson, Vice-President, University Relations.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2012.

Claire Samson, Terry Campbell, Anna Reid, Kelly Lynne Ashton, Judith Wolfson, by videoconference from Toronto, Ontario, and Joannie Rochette made statements and, with Benoit Lavoie, answered questions.


At 5:01 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:06 p.m., the sitting resumed.


At 5:08 p.m., Peggy Nash took the Chair.


Shannon Litzenberger, Shellie Bird, Diana Bronson, Jason Melhoff and Lydya Assayag, by videoconference from Montréal, Québec, made statements and answered questions.


At 5:32 p.m., by unanimous consent and pursuant to Standing Order 115(5), it was agreed that the Committee continue to sit.


At 5:47 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Suzie Cadieux, Jean-François Lafleur
Clerks of the Committee

2013/03/04 1:25 p.m.