Skip to main content
Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 89
Tuesday, November 6, 2012

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 3:31 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Mark Adler, Hon. Scott Brison, Guy Caron, Shelly Glover, Randy Hoback, Brian Jean, Hoang Mai, Wayne Marston, Cathy McLeod, Peggy Nash, James Rajotte and Dave Van Kesteren.


Other Members present: Ted Hsu.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Daniel Benatuil, Analyst. House of Commons: Michelle Tittley, Procedural Clerk.


Witnesses: Bank of Canada: Robert Turnbull, Special Counsel, Financial System. Canadian Manufacturers and Exporters: Martin Lavoie, Director of Policy, Manufacturing Competitiveness and Innovation. Certified General Accountants Association of Canada: Carole Presseault, Vice-President, Government and Regulatory Affairs. Public Service Alliance of Canada: Chris Aylward, National Executive Vice-President; James Infantino, Pensions and Disability Insurance Officer. TSGI-Chartered Accountants: Ken Cudmore, President. Canadian Federation of Independent Business: Corinne Pohlmann, Vice-President, National Affairs. Canadian Labour Congress: Angella MacEwen, Senior Economist, Social and Economic Policy. Canadian Taxpayers Federation: Gregory Thomas, Federal and Ontario Director. Deloitte & Touche: Albert De Luca, Partner, National Leader, Global Research and Development, Government Incentives.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Tuesday, October 30, 2012, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-45, A second Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on March 29, 2012 and other measures.

Robert Turnbull, Martin Lavoie, Carole Presseault, Chris Aylward and Ken Cudmore made statements and, with James Infantino, answered questions.


At 5:00 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:05 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Corinne Pohlmann, Angella MacEwen, Gregory Thomas and Albert De Luca made statements and answered questions.


At 6:01 p.m., by unanimous consent and pursuant to Standing Order 115(5), it was agreed that the Committee continue to sit.


Questioning of the witnesses resumed.


At 6:22 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Lafleur, Suzie Cadieux
Clerks of the Committee

2012/11/07 2:26 p.m.