Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 76
Monday, October 15, 2012

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Vice-Chair, Peggy Nash, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Mark Adler, Shelly Glover, Randy Hoback, Brian Jean, Hoang Mai, Cathy McLeod, Peggy Nash and Dave Van Kesteren.


Acting Members present: Raymond Côté for Guy Caron, Alain Giguère for Wayne Marston, Marc-André Morin for Guy Caron, Hon. Judy Sgro for Hon. Scott Brison and Joy Smith for James Rajotte.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Mark Mahabir, Analyst; Daniel Benatuil, Analyst.


Witnesses: Agence métropolitaine de transport: Daniel Bergeron, Vice-President, Strategic Data and Metropolitan Affairs. Tax Executives Institute, Inc.: Bonnie Dawe, Chair, Canadian Income Tax Committee. Social Economy Working Group: Patrick Duguay, President, Board of Directors. Forest Products Association of Canada: David L. Lindsay, President and Chief Executive Officer. Canadian Energy Pipeline Association: Kim McCaig, Vice-President, Chief Operating Officer. Association québécoise de l'industrie touristique: Claude Péloquin, Vice-President, Board of Directors. Canadian Federation of Independent Business: Corinne Pohlmann, Vice-President, National Affairs. Canadian Labour Congress: Sylvain Schetagne, National Director, Chief Economist, Social and Economic Policy. Certified General Accountants Association of Canada: Denis St-Pierre, Chair of the Tax and Fiscal Policy Advisory Group. St. Boniface Hospital: Michel Tétreault, President and Chief Executive Officer. Canadian Cattlemen's Association: Martin Unrau, President; Andrea Brocklebank, Research Manager.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee commenced its pre-budget consultations 2012.

Martin Unrau, Kim McCaig, Corinne Pohlmann, Denis St-Pierre and Bonnie Dawe made statements and, with Andrea Brocklebank, answered questions.


At 5:01 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:07 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Daniel Bergeron, Claude Péloquin, Sylvain Schetagne, David L. Lindsay, Patrick Duguay and Michel Tétreault made statements and answered questions.


At 6:35 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Lafleur, Suzie Cadieux
Clerks of the Committee

2012/10/16 10:48 a.m.