Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 47
Thursday, March 8, 2012

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 3:31 p.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Mark Adler, Hon. Scott Brison, Robert Chisholm, Alain Giguère, Shelly Glover, Randy Hoback, Brian Jean, Peter Julian, Hoang Mai, Cathy McLeod, James Rajotte and Dave Van Kesteren.


Acting Members present: Harold Albrecht for Brian Jean and Dan Harris for Peter Julian.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Mark Mahabir, Analyst; Brett Stuckey, Analyst.


Appearing: Hon. Ted Menzies, Minister of State (Finance).


Witnesses: Department of Finance: Jeremy Rudin, Assistant Deputy Minister, Financial Sector Policy Branch; Jane Pearse, Director, Financial Institutions Division; Leah Anderson, Director, Financial Sector Division, Financial Sector Policy Branch; Eleanor Ryan, Senior Chief, Financial Sector Policy Branch; Joseph de Pencier, Senior Counsel, General Legal Services. Canadian Bankers Association: Terry Campbell, President and Chief Executive Officer. Canadian Life and Health Insurance Association Inc.: Frank Swedlove, President; Frank Zinatelli, Vice President, General Counsel. Financial Consumer Agency of Canada: Ursula Menke, Commissioner. Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions: Philipe Sarrazin, Managing Director, Legislation and Policy Initiatives.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Tuesday, February 14, 2012, the Committee commenced consideration of Bill S-5, An Act to amend the law governing financial institutions and to provide for related and consequential matters.

The Minister made a statement and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.


At 4:31 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:34 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Terry Campbell, Frank Swedlove, Ursula Menke and Philipe Sarrazin made statements and answered questions.


At 5:32 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Guyanne L. Desforges
Clerk of the Committee

2012/03/09 11:32 a.m.