Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 14
Wednesday, October 5, 2011

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 8:58 a.m. this day, in the Salon Pierre de Coubertin, Hotel OMNI Mont-Royal, Montréal, Québec, the Chair, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Mark Adler, Alain Giguère, Shelly Glover, Brian Jean, Hoang Mai, Wayne Marston, Cathy McLeod, James Rajotte and Dave Van Kesteren.


Acting Members present: Marjolaine Boutin-Sweet for Peggy Nash and Justin Trudeau for Hon. Scott Brison.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Mark Mahabir, Analyst; Brett Stuckey, Analyst. House of Commons: Marlene Sandoval, Committee Clerk.


Witnesses: Conseil du patronat du Québec: Georges Dick, Vice-President of the Board; Norma Kozhaya, Director of Research and Chief Economist. Canadian Hospice Palliative Care Association: Sharon Baxter, Executive Director. Manufacturiers et Exportateurs du Québec: Audrey Azoulay, Director, Research and Government Relations, Quebec Region. Société de transport de Montréal: Marvin Rotrand, Vice-Chair of the Board. Fédération des travailleurs et travailleuses du Québec: Yvon Bolduc, Chief Executive Officer, Fonds de solidarité FTQ. Confédération des syndicats nationaux: Pierre Patry, Treasurer. Union des consommateurs : Élisabeth Gibeau, Social and Fiscal Policies Analyst. Bell Canada: Wayne Tunney, Senior Vice-President, Taxation. Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada: Paul Davidson, President and Chief Executive Officer. Climate Action Network Canada: Graham Saul, Executive Director. Canadian Federation of Agriculture: Ron Bonnett, President. Agence métropolitaine de transport: Joël Gauthier, President and Chief Executive Officer.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2011.

Georges Dick, Norma Kozhaya, Sharon Baxter, Audrey Azoulay, Marvin Rotrand, Yvon Bolduc and Pierre Patry made statements and answered questions.


At 10:27 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:33 a.m., the sitting resumed.


Élisabeth Gibeau, Wayne Tunney, Paul Davidson, Graham Saul, Ron Bonnett and Joël Gauthier made statements and answered questions.


At 12:05 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Guyanne L. Desforges
Clerk of the Committee

2011/11/07 10:14 a.m.