Skip to main content Start of content

FAAE Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 67
Tuesday, February 26, 2013

The Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Development met at 11:00 a.m. this day, in Room 306, La Promenade Building, the Chair, Dean Allison, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Dean Allison, Lois Brown, Bob Dechert, Hon. Mark Eyking, Nina Grewal, Hélène Laverdière, Ève Péclet, Romeo Saganash, Gary Ralph Schellenberger, Dave Van Kesteren and John Williamson.


Acting Members present: Dennis Bevington for Paul Dewar.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Allison Goody, Analyst; James Lee, Analyst.


Witnesses: As an individual: Ted McDorman, Professor, Faculty of Law, University of Victoria. Government of Nunavut: Ed Zebedee, Director, Protection Services; William MacKay, Director, Intergovernmental Relations. Government of the Northwest Territories: Andy Bevan, Acting Deputy Minister, Department of Aboriginal Affairs and Intergovernmental Relations. Government of Yukon: Terry Hayden, Acting Deputy Minister, Economic Development.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on February 1, 2012, the Committee resumed its study of Canada's Arctic Foreign Policy.

Ted McDorman and Ed Zebedee each made a statement and answered questions.


At 11:59 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:03 p.m., the sitting resumed.


On motion of Hélène Laverdière, it was agreed, — That the Hon. Leona Aglukkaq, Minister of Health, Minister of the Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency and Minister for the Arctic Council, be invited to appear before the Committee.


William MacKay, Andy Bevan, by videoconference from Yellowknife, Northwest Territories, and Terry Hayden, by videoconference from Whitehorse, Yukon, each made a statement and answered questions.


At 12:59 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Miriam Burke
Clerk of the Committee

2013/03/01 2:22 p.m.