Skip to main content Start of content

FAAE Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 34
Monday, April 30, 2012

The Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Development met at 3:29 p.m. this day, in Room 306, La Promenade Building, the Chair, Dean Allison, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Dean Allison, Lois Brown, Bob Dechert, Paul Dewar, Nina Grewal, Ève Péclet, Romeo Saganash, Gary Ralph Schellenberger, Dave Van Kesteren and John Williamson.


Acting Members present: Lysane Blanchette-Lamothe for Ève Péclet, Garry Breitkreuz for Nina Grewal, Hon. Mark Eyking for Hon. Dominic LeBlanc, Jack Harris for Hélène Laverdière and Élaine Michaud for Hélène Laverdière.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Allison Goody, Analyst; Charlotte Landry, Research Assistant.


Witnesses: Royal Canadian Mounted Police: Stephen Foster, Director, Commercial Crime Branch; Gisèle Rivest, Officer in Charge, Operations of National Interest and International Corruption, Commercial Crime Branch. Freedom from Hunger: Christopher Dunford, Senior Research Fellow.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, November 1, 2011, the Committee resumed its study on the role of the private sector in achieving Canada's international development interests.

Stephen Foster made a statement and, with Gisèle Rivest, answered questions.


At 4:25 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:30 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Christopher Dunford made a statement and answered questions.


The Chair informed the Committee of the resignation of Hélène Laverdière as First Vice-Chair.

Accordingly, pursuant to Standing Order 106(2), the Committee proceeded to the election of the First Vice-Chair.


On motion of Bob Dechert, it was agreed, — That Paul Dewar be elected First Vice-Chair of the Committee.


At 5:26 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Miriam Burke
Clerk of the Committee

2012/05/04 3:59 p.m.