Skip to main content Start of content

ETHI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 46
Tuesday, June 19, 2012

The Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics met in a televised session at 11:02 a.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Pierre-Luc Dusseault, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Scott Andrews, Charlie Angus, Charmaine Borg, Alexandre Boulerice, Brad Butt, Blaine Calkins, John Carmichael, Patricia Davidson, Earl Dreeshen, Pierre-Luc Dusseault and Colin Mayes.


Acting Members present: Chris Warkentin for Dean Del Mastro.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Dara Lithwick, Analyst; Maxime-Olivier Thibodeau, Analyst.


Witnesses: University of Toronto: Sara Grimes, Assistant Professor, Faculty of Information. Canadian Internet Policy and Public Interest Clinic: Tamir Israel, Staff Lawyer. Heenan, Blaikie: Adam Kardash, Managing Director and Head, Access Privacy.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(3)(h) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, May 8, 2012, the Committee resumed its study of privacy and social media.

Sara Grimes, Tamir Israel and Adam Kardash made statements and answered questions.


At 12:33 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:36 p.m., the sitting resumed.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

Chris Warkentin moved, — That the Committee proceed to sit in camera.


The question was put on the motion and it was agreed to on the following recorded division: YEAS: Brad Butt, Blaine Calkins, John Carmichael, Patricia Davidson, Earl Dreeshen, Colin Mayes, Chris Warkentin — 7; NAYS: Scott Andrews, Charlie Angus, Charmaine Borg, Alexandre Boulerice — 4.


At 12:37 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:39 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.


It was agreed, — That in relation to its study on privacy and social media, the Committee post copies of submissions, briefs and correspondence to the Committee relating to the study, on the committee’s website once they are available in both official languages.


At 12:58 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Chad Mariage
Clerk of the Committee

2012/06/20 1:02 p.m.