Skip to main content
Start of content

CIMM Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 74
Tuesday, March 26, 2013

The Standing Committee on Citizenship and Immigration met in a televised session at 8:45 a.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, David Tilson, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Rick Dykstra, Mylène Freeman, Sadia Groguhé, Roxanne James, Kevin Lamoureux, Chungsen Leung, Costas Menegakis, Ted Opitz, Jinny Jogindera Sims, Rathika Sitsabaiesan, David Tilson and John Weston.


Associate Members present: Devinder Shory.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Julie Béchard, Analyst; James Gauthier, Analyst.


Witnesses: Muslim Canadian Congress: Salma Siddiqui, President; Tahir Gora, Secretary General. As an individual: Grazia Scoppio, Associate Professor, Canadian Defence Academy and Royal Military College of Canada, Department of National Defence. Ahmadiyya Muslim Jama'at: Asif Khan, National Secretary for Public Relations; Imtiaz Ahmed, Missionary and Public Relations Director , Ottawa Region. Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees: Furio De Angelis, Representative in Canada; Nadia Williamson, Associate Legal Officer.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, February 27, 2013, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-425, An Act to amend the Citizenship Act (honouring the Canadian Armed Forces).

Asif Khan, Grazia Scoppio and Salma Siddiqui made statements and answered questions.


On motion of Rick Dykstra, it was agreed, — That, notwithstanding the motion adopted on Thursday, February 28, 2013, the amendments to the Bill be submitted to the clerk in both official languages forty-eight (48) hours before beginning clause-by-clause consideration, that is, before 3:30 p.m. on Friday, April 19, 2013, and that these amendments be distributed to members in both official languages as soon as possible on Monday, April 22, 2013.


At 10:00 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:04 a.m., the sitting resumed.


Furio De Angelis made a statement and answered questions.


At 10:47 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Julie Lalande Prud'homme
Clerk of the Committee

2013-04-12 2:11 p.m.