Skip to main content Start of content

CIIT Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 51
Thursday, October 18, 2012

The Standing Committee on International Trade met at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room 268, La Promenade Building, the Chair, the Hon. Rob Merrifield, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Ron Cannan, Don Davies, Hon. Wayne Easter, Russ Hiebert, Gerald Keddy, Hon. Rob Merrifield, Jasbir Sandhu, Bev Shipley and Devinder Shory.


Acting Members present: Alex Atamanenko for Marc-André Morin, Lois Brown for Ed Holder and Jamie Nicholls for Annick Papillon.


Other Members present: Elizabeth May.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Chief, Macroeconomics and Trade; Alexandre Gauthier, Analyst.


Witnesses: Sustainable Development Technology Canada: Vicky J. Sharpe, President and Chief Executive Officer; Sailesh Thaker, Vice-President, Industry and Stakeholder Relations. Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers: Greg Stringham, Vice-President, Oil Sands and Markets. Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade: Ian Burney, Assistant Deputy Minister, Trade Policy and Negotiations Branch; Laurent Cardinal, Director General, North America Trade Policy Bureau; Cameron MacKay, Director General, China Trade Policy Bureau; John O'Neill, Director, Investment Trade Policy Division; Vernon MacKay, Deputy Director, Investment Trade Policy Division; Sylvie Tabet, Director and General Counsel, Trade Law Bureau.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, April 24, 2012, the Committee resumed its study of a comprehensive and high-level economic partnership agreement (EPA) with Japan.

Vicky J. Sharpe and Greg Stringham made statements and answered questions.


At 4:29 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:32 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, October 16, 2012, the Committee proceeded to a briefing on the Agreement between the Government of Canada and the Government of the People's Republic of China for the Promotion and Reciprocal Protection of Investments.

Ian Burney made a statement and, with Cameron MacKay, John O'Neill, Sylvie Tabet and Vernon MacKay, answered questions.


At 5:30 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Paul Cardegna
Clerk of the Committee

2012/10/19 3:49 p.m.