Skip to main content Start of content

AANO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 67
Thursday, April 18, 2013

The Standing Committee on Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development met at 8:48 a.m. this day, in Room 228, La Promenade Building, the Chair, Chris Warkentin, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Carolyn Bennett, Dennis Bevington, Ray Boughen, Rob Clarke, Jean Crowder, Jonathan Genest-Jourdain, Carol Hughes, Brent Rathgeber, Greg Rickford, Kyle Seeback and Chris Warkentin.


Acting Members present: Bernard Trottier for Stella Ambler.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Norah Kielland, Analyst; Tonina Simeone, Analyst.


Witnesses: Assembly of First Nations: Karen Campbell; Jody Wilson-Raybould, Regional Chief, British Columbia. As an individual: Guy Lonechild, Former Grand Chief and Vice Chief, Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations.


Participants present: Senate: Hon. Nancy Greene Raine, Senator, CPC.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, December 5, 2012, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-428, An Act to amend the Indian Act (publication of by-laws) and to provide for its replacement.

Jody Wilson-Raybould made a statement and answered questions.


At 9:47 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:54 a.m., the sitting resumed.


Guy Lonechild made a statement and answered questions.


At 10:35 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:38 a.m., the sitting resumed in camera.


At 10:47 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-Marie David
Clerk of the Committee

2013/04/24 11:18 a.m.