Skip to main content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 30
Thursday, October 28, 2010

The Standing Committee on Transport, Infrastructure and Communities met in a televised session at 11:02 a.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Merv Tweed, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Dennis Bevington, Lois Brown, Hon. Gerry Byrne, Roger Gaudet, Michel Guimond, Brian Jean, Colin Mayes, Hon. John McCallum, Brad Trost, Merv Tweed and Jeff Watson.


Acting Members present: Robert Carrier for Michel Guimond and Hon. Gurbax S. Malhi for Sukh Dhaliwal.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: John Christopher, Analyst; Dean Ruffili, Analyst.


Appearing: Hon. Chuck Strahl, Minister of Transport, Infrastructure and Communities.


Witnesses: Department of Transport: Yaprak Baltacioglu, Deputy Minister. Infrastructure Canada: John Forster, Associate Deputy Minister; Bryce Conrad, Assistant Deputy Minister, Programs Operation Branch. Western Economic Diversification Canada: Daniel Watson, Deputy Minister; Cathy Matthews, Director General, Finance and Management Accountability.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee proceeded to a briefing on the vision and priorities of the Minister for the Transport, Infrastructure and Communities (TIC) Portfolio.

The Honourable Chuck Strahl made a statement and, with Yaprak Baltacioglu and John Forster, answered questions.


At 12:02 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:11 p.m., the sitting resumed in public.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motions adopted by the Committee on April 29 and October 7, 2010, the Committee resumed its study of the Government of Canada's deadline of March 31, 2011, for completion of projects under the Infrastructure Stimulus Fund and the Recreational Infrastructure Canada Program

Daniel Watson made a statement and, with John Forster and Bryce Conrad, answered questions.


At 1:03 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Bonnie Charron
Clerk of the Committee

2010/11/03 12:38 p.m.