Skip to main content
Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 48
Monday, February 14, 2011

The Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights met at 3:31 p.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Vice-Chair, Brian Murphy, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Joe Comartin, Bob Dechert, Ed Fast, Hon. Marlene Jennings, Derek Lee, Marc Lemay, Serge Ménard, Brian Murphy, Daniel Petit, Brent Rathgeber and Stephen Woodworth.


Acting Members present: Russ Hiebert for Rick Norlock.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Robin MacKay, Analyst. House of Commons: Mariane Beaudin, Committee Clerk.


Witnesses: As individuals: Vernon L. Quinsey, Professor Emeritus of Psychology, Queen's University; Hubert Van Gijseghem, Psychologist and Professor (retired), University of Montreal. John Howard Society of Canada: Ed McIsaac, Director of Policy. Department of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness: R. Karl Hanson, Senior Research Scientist, Corrections and Criminal Justice. Church Council on Justice and Corrections: Richard Haughian, Vice-President; Lorraine Berzins, Community Chair of Justice.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, December 6, 2010, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-54, An Act to amend the Criminal Code (sexual offences against children).

At 3:32 p.m., the Chair took the Chair.


Vernon L. Quinsey and Hubert Van Gijseghem made statements and answered questions.


At 4:29 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:33 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Ed McIsaac, R. Karl Hanson, Richard Haughian and Lorraine Berzins made statements and answered questions.


At 5:29 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Miriam Burke
Clerk of the Committee

2011/02/16 2:49 p.m.