Skip to main content
Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 20
Tuesday, June 1, 2010

The Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights met at 11:06 a.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Ed Fast, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Ed Fast, Marc Lemay, Serge Ménard, Alexandra Mendes, Rick Norlock, Daniel Petit, Brent Rathgeber and Stephen Woodworth.


Acting Members present: Mike Allen for Bob Dechert, Hon. Larry Bagnell for Brian Murphy, Megan Anissa Leslie for Joe Comartin and Todd Norman Russell for Alexandra Mendes.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Robin MacKay, Analyst. House of Commons: Simon Larouche, Committee Clerk.


Witnesses: Regroupement des organismes de justice alternative du Québec: Serge Charbonneau, Director. Child Welfare League of Canada: Peter Dudding, Executive Director. African Canadian Legal Clinic: Megan Forward, Lawyer, Policy Research; Lwam Ghebarehariat, Summer Law Student. Barreau du Québec: Carole Gladu, Lawyer; Nicole Dufour, Lawyer, Research and Legislation Service; Dominique Trahan, Lawyer. Criminal Lawyers' Association: Michael Spratt, Director. Centres jeunesse de l'Outaouais: Yves Laperrière, Department Head, Youth Criminal Justice Act. As an individual: Jacques Dionne, Professor, Department of Psychoeducation and Psychology, Université du Québec en Outaouais.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, May 3, 2010, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-4, An Act to amend the Youth Criminal Justice Act and to make consequential and related amendments to other Acts.

Peter Dudding, Yves Laperrière and Megan Forward made statements and, with Lwam Ghebarehariat, answered questions.


At 12:12 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:19 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Nicole Dufour, Dominique Trahan, Carole Gladu, Serge Charbonneau, Michael Spratt and Jacques Dionne made statements and answered questions.


At 1:33 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Miriam Burke
Clerk of the Committee

2010/06/03 7:46 a.m.