Skip to main content
Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 19
Thursday, May 27, 2010

The Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights met at 12:01 p.m. this day, in Room 853, 131 Queen St., the Chair, Ed Fast, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Joe Comartin, Bob Dechert, Ed Fast, Marc Lemay, Serge Ménard, Alexandra Mendes, Rick Norlock, Daniel Petit, Brent Rathgeber and Stephen Woodworth.


Acting Members present: Hon. Larry Bagnell for Brian Murphy and Hon. Geoff Regan for Hon. Dominic LeBlanc.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Robin MacKay, Analyst. House of Commons: Simon Larouche, Committee Clerk.


Appearing: Hon. Rob Nicholson, P.C., M.P., Minister of Justice.


Witnesses: Department of Justice: Myles Kirvan, Deputy Minister.

Pursuant to Standing Order 81(4), the Committee commenced consideration of the Main Estimates 2010-2011: Votes 1, 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35 and 50 under JUSTICE referred to the Committee on Wednesday, March 3, 2010.

The Chair called Vote 1 under JUSTICE.


The Minister made a statement and, with the Myles Kirvan, answered questions.


By unanimous consent, the Chair called Votes 1, 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35 and 50 under JUSTICE.


Votes 1, 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35 and 50 under JUSTICE carried, on division.


ORDERED, — That the Chair report Votes 1, 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35 and 50, less the amounts voted in Interim Supply, under JUSTICE to the House.


At 12:58 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Miriam Burke
Clerk of the Committee

2010/06/08 9:50 a.m.