Skip to main content Start of content

HESA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 51
Thursday, February 17, 2011

The Standing Committee on Health met by videoconference at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room 8-53, 131 Queen St., the Acting Chair, Tim Uppal, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Josée Beaudin, Colin Carrie, Patricia Davidson, Hon. Ujjal Dosanjh, Kirsty Duncan, Luc Malo, Tilly O'Neill-Gordon and Tim Uppal.


Acting Members present: Carol Hughes for Megan Anissa Leslie, Brian Murphy for Ruby Dhalla, Rick Norlock for Joy Smith and Brent Rathgeber for Patrick Brown.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Karin Phillips, Analyst.


Witnesses: Canadian Cancer Society: Heather Chappell, Director, Cancer Control Policy; Rob Cunningham, Senior Policy Analyst. BC Healthy Living Alliance: Hon. Mary Collins, Director of the Secretariat; Barbara Kaminsky, Chair. NUTRIUM: Stéphanie Côté, Dietitian, Public nutrition and communication/media, Nutrition reference centre of Université de Montréal. Canadian Restaurant and Foodservices Association: Joyce Reynolds, Executive Vice-President, Government Affairs; Garth Whyte, President and Chief Executive Officer. Canadian Chiropractic Association: John Tucker, Director, Government and Interprofessional Relations; Eleanor White, President.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, October 5, 2010, the Committee resumed its study on healthy living.

Heather Chappell, Rob Cunningham, Eleanor White, Garth Whyte, Joyce Reynolds, Stéphanie Côté, and Barbara Kaminsky and Mary Collins by videoconference from Vancouver, British Columbia made statements and, with the other witness, answered questions.


At 5:11 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:14 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That on Tuesday, March 22, 2011, the Committee meeting be devoted to the consideration of the draft report of the Subcommittee on Neurological Disease and that all other previously planned meetings be moved forward by one meeting.


At 5:25 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:27 p.m., the sitting resumed.


At 5:29 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Christine Holke David
Clerk of the Committee

2011/02/18 2:20 p.m.