Skip to main content

FOPO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 36
Thursday, December 2, 2010

The Standing Committee on Fisheries and Oceans met in a televised session at 8:55 a.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Rodney Weston, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Raynald Blais, Ron Cannan, Fin Donnelly, Randy Kamp, Yvon Lévesque, Joyce Murray, Devinder Shory, John Weston and Rodney Weston.


Acting Members present: Scott Andrews for Rodger Cuzner, Robert Oliphant for Hon. Lawrence MacAulay and Stephen Woodworth for Mike Allen.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: François Côté, Analyst.


Appearing: Hon. Gail Shea, P.C., M.P., Minister of Fisheries and Oceans.


Witnesses: Department of Fisheries and Oceans: Claire Dansereau, Deputy Minister; Kevin Stringer, Assistant Deputy Minister, Program Policy; David Bevan, Associate Deputy Minister.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, October 19, 2010, the Committee commenced its study of current issues facing the Fisheries and Oceans Sector.

The Minister made a statement and, with Claire Dansereau and Kevin Stringer, answered questions.


At 9:30 a.m., Scott Andrews took the Chair.


At 9:32 a.m., Rodney Weston took the Chair.


At 9:56 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:03 a.m., the sitting resumed.


Claire Dansereau and Kevin Stringer answered questions.


At 10:49 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Travis Ladouceur
Clerk of the Committee

2010/12/02 1:42 p.m.