Skip to main content
Start of content

FOPO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 12
Monday, May 3, 2010

The Standing Committee on Fisheries and Oceans met by videoconference at 3:35 p.m. this day, in Room 752, 131 Queen Street, the Chair, Rodney Weston, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Mike Allen, Scott Andrews, Raynald Blais, Blaine Calkins, Fin Donnelly, Randy Kamp, Yvon Lévesque, Hon. Lawrence MacAulay, Tilly O'Neill-Gordon, John Weston and Rodney Weston.


Acting Members present: Sukh Dhaliwal for Hon. Gerry Byrne.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: François Côté, Analyst.


Witnesses: Vancouver Island University: William Pennell, Acting Director, Institute for Coastal Research. As an individual: Brian Harvey. University of Washington, Seattle: Martin Krkosek, Research Associate, School of Aquatic and Fishery Sciences.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Wednesday, April 28, 2010, the Committee commenced its study of aquaculture in the Pacific region.

William Pennell, by videoconference from Nanaimo, British-Columbia, and Brian Harvey, by videoconference from Vancouver, British-Columbia, made a statement and answered questions.


At 4:21 p.m., Raynald Blais took the Chair.


At 4:30 p.m., Rodney Weston took the Chair.


At 4:31 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:34 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Martin Krkosek made a statement and answered questions.


At 5:30 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Travis Ladouceur
Clerk of the Committee

2010/06/22 3:34 p.m.