Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 24
Thursday, June 3, 2010

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Robert Carrier, Bernard Généreux, Hon. John McKay, Ted Menzies, Massimo Pacetti, Daniel Paillé, James Rajotte and Mike Wallace.


Acting Members present: André Bellavance for Daniel Paillé, Ray Boughen for Kelly Block, Bonnie Crombie for Hon. John McCallum, Richard M. Harris for Russ Hiebert, Wayne Marston for Thomas J. Mulcair and Cathy McLeod for Russ Hiebert.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Mark Mahabir, Analyst. House of Commons: Mike MacPherson, Legislative Clerk.


Witnesses: Library of Parliament: Kevin Page, Parliamentary Budget Officer; Sahir Khan, Assistant Parliamentary Budget Officer, Expenditure and Revenue Analysis, Office of the Parliamentary Budget Officer; Mostafa Askari, Assistant Parliamentary Budget Officer, Economic and Fiscal Analysis, Office of the Parliamentary Budget Officer; Jason Jacques, Financial Advisor, Expenditure and Revenue Analysis, Office of the Parliamentary Budget Officer.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, March 3, 2010, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-290, An Act to amend the Income Tax Act (tax credit for loss of retirement income).

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 4:20 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:49 p.m., the sitting resumed.


The Committee commenced its clause-by-clause study of the Bill.


The Chair called Clause 1.


Clause 1 carried on the following recorded division: YEAS: André Bellavance, Robert Carrier, Bonnie Crombie, Wayne Marston, Massimo Pacetti — 5; NAYS: Ray Boughen, Richard M. Harris, Ted Menzies, Mike Wallace — 4.


Clause 2 carried on division.


The Title carried on division.


The Bill carried on division.


ORDERED, — That the Chair report the Bill to the House.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That the Standing Committee on Finance congratulate two of its members who were recognized by their peers in the annual surveys conducted by Maclean’s and L’Actualité magazines.

Congratulations to Ms. Kelly Block, MP for Saskatoon—Rosetown—Biggar who was named rising star, and to Mr. Ted Menzies, parliamentary secretary to the Minister of Finance, who was voted hardest working M.P.


It was agreed, — That the proposed budget in the amount of $ 5 100, for the study of Bill C-290, An Act to amend the Income Tax Act (tax credit for loss of retirement income), be adopted.


At 5:00 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Pagé
Clerk of the Committee

2010/06/08 8:45 a.m.