Skip to main content
Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 17
Thursday, May 6, 2010

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Kelly Block, Robert Carrier, Bernard Généreux, Hon. John McCallum, Hon. John McKay, Ted Menzies, Thomas J. Mulcair, Massimo Pacetti, Daniel Paillé, James Rajotte and Mike Wallace.


Acting Members present: Niki Ashton for Thomas J. Mulcair, Martha Hall Findlay for Massimo Pacetti and Daryl Kramp for Russ Hiebert.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Mark Mahabir, Analyst. House of Commons: Julie-Anne Macdonald, Committee Clerk.


Witnesses: Department of Finance: Mark Hodgson, Senior Policy Analyst, Labour Markets, Employment and Learning, Social Policy, Federal-Provincial Relations and Social Policy Branch. Department of Human Resources and Skills Development: Louis Beauséjour, Director General, Employment Insurance Policy, Skills and Employment Branch. Coalition québécoise pour le contrôle du tabac: Rob Cunningham, Senior Policy Analyst, Canadian Cancer Society. Genome Canada: Dale Patterson, Interim Chief Executive Officer and Vice-President, External Relations; Guy D'Aloisio, Vice-President, Finance; Cindy Bell, Executive Vice-President, Corporate Development. Pathways to Education Canada: David Hughes, President and Chief Executive Officer. Canadian Apparel Federation: Bob Kirke, Executive Director. Fédération des travailleurs et travailleuses du Québec: Michel Ducharme, Vice-President; Marc Bellemare, Syndicate Counsellor. PricewaterhouseCoopers: Michael Firth, Partner, Indirect Tax.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, April 19, 2010, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-9, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on March 4, 2010 and other measures.

Mark Hodgson and Louis Beauséjour answered questions.


At 4:23 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:26 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Rob Cunningham, Dale Patterson, David Hughes, Bob Kirke, Michel Ducharme and Michael Firth made statements and, with Guy D'Aloisio, Cindy Bell and Marc Bellemare, answered questions.


At 5:30 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Pagé
Clerk of the Committee

2010/05/10 4:38 p.m.