Skip to main content
Start of content

CIMM Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 27
Wednesday, October 20, 2010

The Standing Committee on Citizenship and Immigration met at 3:32 p.m. this day, in Room 7-52, 131 Queen St., the Chair, David Tilson, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Olivia Chow, Rick Dykstra, Nina Grewal, Robert Oliphant, Thierry St-Cyr, David Tilson, Justin Trudeau, Tim Uppal, Alice Wong, Borys Wrzesnewskyj and Terence Young.


Acting Members present: Louis Plamondon for Josée Beaudin.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Daphne Keevil Harrold, Analyst; Anna Gay, Analyst.


Witnesses: Canada Border Services Agency: Peter Hill, Director General, Post-Border Programs; Dale Brown, Acting Director, Criminal Investigations Division; Gregory Israelstam, Counsel, Justice Canada, Legal Services. Royal Canadian Mounted Police: C/Supt Joe Oliver, Director General, Border Integrity; Supt Shirley Cuillierrier, Director, Immigration and Passport Branch. Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada: Sylvia Cox-Duquette, Senior General Counsel. As an individual: Sean Rehaag, Assistant Professor, Osgoode Hall Law School, York University.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Thursday, September 23, 2010, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-35, An Act to amend the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act.

Peter Hill and C/Supt Joe Oliver made statements and, with Dale Brown, Gregory Israelstam and Supt Shirley Cuillierrier, answered questions.


At 4:37 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:41 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Sylvia Cox-Duquette and Sean Rehaag made statements and answered questions.


At 5:30 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Julie Lalande Prud'homme
Clerk of the Committee

2010/10/28 2:43 p.m.