Skip to main content Start of content

CC32 Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 15
Tuesday, March 1, 2011

The Legislative Committee on Bill C-32 met in a televised session at 11:23 a.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Gordon Brown, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Charlie Angus, Hon. Maxime Bernier, Peter Braid, Gordon Brown, Serge Cardin, Dean Del Mastro, Ed Fast, Marc Garneau, Mike Lake, Carole Lavallée, Hon. Dan McTeague and Pablo Rodriguez.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Dara Lithwick, Analyst; Maxime-Olivier Thibodeau, Analyst.


Witnesses: As an individual: Maïa Davies. Canadian Council of Music Industry Associations: John-Paul Ellson, Chair. Canadian Recording Industry Association: Graham Henderson, President. MapleMusic: Grant Dexter, President. Quinlan Road Limited: Loreena McKennitt, President. Association québécoise de l'industrie du disque, du spectacle et de la vidéo (ADISQ): Solange Drouin, Vice-President and Executive Director, Public Affairs; Lyette Bouchard, Assistant Executive Director. Guilde des musiciens et musiciennes du Québec: Luc Fortin, President; Éric Lefebvre, Secretary-Treasurer. Society of Composers, Authors and Music Publishers of Canada: Paul Spurgeon, Vice-President, Legal Services and General Counsel; Victor Davies, Director, Board of Directors; Gilles Valiquette, Director, Board of Directors. Songwriters Association of Canada: Jim Vallance, Vice-President; Greg Johnston, Treasurer.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Friday, November 5, 2010, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-32, An Act to amend the Copyright Act.

Dean Del Mastro moved, — That the Committee sit till 1:24 p.m.


After debate, the question was put on the motion and it was negatived, by a show of hands: YEAS: 5; NAYS: 6.


Graham Henderson, Maia Davies, John-Paul Ellson, Grant Dexter and Loreena McKennitt made statements and answered questions.


At 12:10 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:16 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Solange Drouin, Luc Fortin, Gilles Valiquette, Paul Spurgeon, Victor Davies and Greg Johnston made statements and, with Éric Lefevbre and Lyette Bouchard, answered questions.


At 1:04 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Andrew Bartholomew Chaplin
Clerk of the Committee

2011/03/08 2:05 p.m.