Skip to main content
Start of content

AGRI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 23
Wednesday, May 26, 2010

The Standing Committee on Agriculture and Agri-Food met at 3:31 p.m. this day, in Room 752, 131 Queen St., the Chair, Larry Miller, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Alex Atamanenko, André Bellavance, France Bonsant, Hon. Wayne Easter, Hon. Mark Eyking, Pierre Lemieux, Larry Miller, Blake Richards, Bev Shipley, Brian Storseth and Francis Valeriote.


Acting Members present: Blaine Calkins for Randy Hoback.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Aïcha Coulibaly, Analyst; Frédéric Forge, Analyst.


Witnesses: Manitoba Cattle Producers Association: Jay Fox, President. As an individual: Jill Harvie, Rancher. Newfoundland and Labrador Federation of Agriculture: Eugene Legge, President. Canadian Cattlemen's Association: Travis Toews, President. Newfoundland and Labrador Young Farmers' Forum: Chan Wiseman, Vice-President.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

Wayne Easter moved, — That the Standing Committee on Agriculture and Agri-Food be granted an operational budget of $ 39,550 for its study of Young Farmers and the Future of Farming.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Monday, March 15, 2010 the Committee resumed its study of young farmers and the future of farming.

Travis Toews, Eugene Legge, Chan Wiseman, Jay Fox and Jill Harvie made statements and answered questions.


At 5:23 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Isabelle Duford
Clerk of the Committee

2010/05/27 2:28 p.m.