Skip to main content Start of content

AANO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 19
Thursday, May 27, 2010

The Standing Committee on Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development met at 3:28 p.m. this day, in Room 308, West Block, the Vice-Chair, Todd Norman Russell, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Larry Bagnell, Rob Clarke, Jean Crowder, Earl Dreeshen, John Duncan, Marc Lemay, Yvon Lévesque, LaVar Payne, Greg Rickford and Todd Norman Russell.


Acting Members present: Hon. Shawn Murphy for Hon. Larry Bagnell and Lise Zarac for Hon. Anita Neville.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Tonina Simeone, Analyst.


Appearing: Hon. Chuck Strahl, Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development.


Witnesses: Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development: Michael Wernick, Deputy Minister. Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency: Nicole Jauvin, Deputy Minister and President; Michel Robillard, Executive Vice-President.

Pursuant to Standing Order 81(4), the Committee commenced consideration of the Main Estimates 2010-2011: Votes 1, 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, L30, L35, 40, 45, 50, 55, 60 and 65 under INDIAN AFFAIRS AND NORTHERN DEVELOPMENT referred to the Committee on Wednesday, March 3, 2010.
Pursuant to Standing Order 81(5), the Committee commenced consideration of the Supplementary Estimates (A) 2010-2011: Votes 1a, 10a, 20a and 25a under INDIAN AFFAIRS AND NORTHERN DEVELOPMENT referred to the Committee on Tuesday, May 25, 2010.

The Minister made a statement and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.


At 5:19 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Graeme Truelove
Clerk of the Committee

2010/05/28 10:41 a.m.