Skip to main content
Start of content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 37
Wednesday, November 18, 2009

The Standing Committee on Transport, Infrastructure and Communities met at 3:36 p.m. this day, in Room 269, West Block, the Vice-Chair, Mario Laframboise, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Lois Brown, Sukh Dhaliwal, Candice Hoeppner, Brian Jean, Mario Laframboise, Colin Mayes, Hon. Joseph Volpe and Jeff Watson.


Acting Members present: Hon. Gerry Byrne for Gerard Kennedy, Jim Maloway for Dennis Bevington and Jean-Yves Roy for Roger Gaudet.


Associate Members present: Brian Storseth.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: John Christopher, Analyst; Allison Padova, Analyst.


Witnesses: Town of Conception Bay South: Woodrow French, Mayor. Consumers' Association of Canada: Mel Fruitman, Vice-President. Air Transport Association of Canada: John McKenna, President and Chief Executive Officer; Tracy Medve, Director, Board of Directors. Quebec Air Transportation Association: Marco Prud'homme, President and General Manager.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, May 13, 2009, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-310, An Act to Provide Certain Rights to Air Passengers.

The Honourable Joseph Volpe took the Chair.


Woodrow French and Marco Prud'homme made statements and answered questions.


At 4:36 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:37 p.m., the sitting resumed.


John McKenna and Mel Fruitman made statements and answered questions.


At 5:30 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Bonnie Charron
Clerk of the Committee

2009/11/19 2:02 p.m.