Skip to main content Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 42
Friday, October 23, 2009

The Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights met at 8:38 a.m. this day, in Room World Trade Convention Centre, Halifax, Nova Scotia, the Chair, Ed Fast, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Joe Comartin, Ed Fast, Hon. Marlene Jennings, Serge Ménard, Rob Moore, Rick Norlock, Brent Rathgeber and Stephen Woodworth.


Acting Members present: Ève-Mary Thaï Thi Lac for Marc Lemay.


Associate Members present: Megan Anissa Leslie.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Robin MacKay, Analyst; Dominique Valiquet, Analyst.


Witnesses: Halifax Regional Police Drug Unit: Chief Frank A. Beazley; Supt Don Spicer, Public Safety Officer; Sharon Martin, Coordinator, Youth Advocate program. Royal Canadian Mounted Police: Supt Brian Brennan, Officer in Charge, Federal Policing Branch, H Division. Canada Border Services Agency: David Aggett, Director, Enforcement and Intelligence. Government of Nova Scotia: Robert Purcell, Executive Director, Public Safety Division, Nova Scotia Department of Justice. As an individual: Stephen Schneider, Associate Professor, Saint Mary's University, Department of Sociology and Criminology.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Monday, February 9, 2009, the Committee resumed its study on the state of organized crime.

Chief Frank A. Beazley, Supt Don Spicer, Insp Brian Brennan and David Aggett made statements and, with Sharon Martin, answered questions.


At 10:27 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:44 a.m., the sitting resumed.


Stephen Schneider and Robert Purcell made statements and answered questions.


At 12:00 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Miriam Burke
Clerk of the Committee

2010/02/11 1:49 p.m.