Skip to main content Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 41
Thursday, October 22, 2009

The Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights met at 2:01 p.m. this day, in the Room Montréal C and D, Le Westin Montréal, Montréal, Québec, the Chair, Ed Fast, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Joe Comartin, Ed Fast, Hon. Marlene Jennings, Serge Ménard, Rob Moore, Rick Norlock, Daniel Petit, Brent Rathgeber and Stephen Woodworth.


Acting Members present: Ève-Mary Thaï Thi Lac for Marc Lemay.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Robin MacKay, Analyst; Dominique Valiquet, Analyst.


Witnesses: Barreau du Québec: Giuseppe Battista, President of the Committee on Criminal Law; Nicole Dufour, Committee Business Coordinator. Canada Border Services Agency: Angelo De Riggi, Manager, Regional Intelligence Division of Quebec. Royal Canadian Mounted Police: Insp Martine Fontaine, Officer in Charge, Integrated Proceeds of Crime, Montreal; Insp Sylvain Joyal, Officer in Charge, Drugs Section, Montreal. Criminal Intelligence Service Canada: Pierre-Paul Pichette, Chief Executive Officer, Criminal Intelligence Service Quebec. Sûreté du Québec: Insp Denis Morin; Francis Brabant, Legal Counsel.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Monday, February 9, 2009, the Committee resumed its study on the state of organized crime.

Giuseppe Battista, Angelo De Riggi, Pierre-Paul Pichette, Insp Sylvain Joyal and Insp Denis Morin made statements and, with Insp Martine Fontaine and Francis Brabant, answered questions.


At 4:00 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Miriam Burke
Clerk of the Committee

2010/02/11 1:49 p.m.